Home Films ‘Róise And Frank’ Wins Audience Award – Deadline

‘Róise And Frank’ Wins Audience Award – Deadline


The Santa Barbara Film Festival unveiled the winners of its 37th edition on Saturday morning, awarding its Audience Award to the Irish-language film Roise and Frank.

This year’s festival jury winners include Jon-Sesrie Goff’s After Sherman as Best Documentary, and Shawkat Amin Korki’s The exam (Ezmûn) winning the Jeffrey C. Barbakow Award for Best International Feature Film.

Roise and Frank (Mo ghrá buan), directed by Rachael Moriarty and Peter Murphy, centers on Róise (Brid Ni Neachtain), a grieving widow who befriends a dog who may just be her reincarnated late husband. The pic was screened earlier this week at the Dublin Film Festival where it won Best Ensemble.

Overall, this year’s in-person festival attracted 200 films from 54 countries as well as its usual roster of panel galas celebrating the best film of the year – a traditional stop on the awards circuit. This year included Q&As with Oscar nominees Kristen Stewart, Ariana DeBose, Troy Kotsur, Will Smith, Aunjanue Ellis, Benedict Cumberbatch, Javier Bardem and Nicole Kidman, among others.

The winning films were chosen by this year’s jury: Carlos Aguilar, Justine Bateman, Dupe Bosu, Julie Carmen, Annlee Ellingson, Tim Grierson, Beandrea July, Elizabeth Lo, Scott Mantz, Jose Novoa, Gil Robertson, Charles Solomon, Angie Wang, Steve Zahn, and Anthony & Annette Zerbe.

Here is the full list of 2022 winners:

People’s choice

Roise and Franck
Rachael Moriarty and Peter Murphy

Documentary short film

Jordan Matthew Horowitz

Bruce Corwin Award (Best Live Action Short Film)

No ghost in the morgue (No ghosts in the morgue)
Marilyn Cooke

Bruce Corwin Award (Best Animated Short)

The apprentice shaman
Zachary Kunuk

Best Documentary

After Sherman
Jon-Sesrie Goff

Jeffrey C. Barbakow Award (Best International Feature Film)

The exam (Ezmun)
Shawkat Amin Korki

Middle Eastern/Israeli Film

you look like me (You look like me)
Dina Bitter

Nordic/Dutch film

Miss Viborg
Marianne Blicher

Nueva Vision Prize for Cinema Spain/Latin America

Martín Barrenechea and Nicolas Branca

Panavision Spirit Award for Independent Film

Shasha Nakhai and Rich Williamson

Social Justice Award for Documentary Film

Emma Macey-Storch

ADL Stand Up Awards

Our worlds collide
Jordan W. Barrow and Matt Edwards